Mount Teide tours from Tenerife: what each kind really includes

A panoramic coach tour, a tour with the cable car and a climb to the summit are three different days out. Here is how to tell them apart and which ones collect you from your area.

Compare the Teide tours we have checked

Ordered by how complete our checked information is, not by price or commission. Each fact shows whether it is confirmed, conditional or unknown, with its sources.

Park, cable car or summit: what each Teide tour includes at a glance. Full details, sources and dates are in each card.

TourKindCable carSummit permitDurationPrice from
Guided Teide summit hike with cable car and trail permit

Summit

Conditional Yes

Conditional Yes (the €15 fee for non-residents is not stated)

Confirmed 6 hours

Confirmed From €178 on the operator site

Teide day tour with cable car ride, pickup in the north

Cable car

Confirmed Yes, return ticket

Confirmed No

Confirmed About 7 hours; time at the upper station limited to 1 hour

Confirmed From €92 per adult for the north option on the operator site

Teide day tour with cable car ride, pickup in the south

Cable car

Confirmed Yes, return ticket

Confirmed No

Confirmed About 7 hours; time at the upper station limited to 1 hour

Confirmed From €92 per adult on the operator site

Teide, Masca village, Icod and Garachico in one coach day

National park by coach

Confirmed No

Confirmed No

Confirmed About 9 hours, including about 30 minutes at Roques de García. Visits to Icod, Garachico, Teno and Masca; other stop lengths not stated

Confirmed €58 per adult, €39 per child; €78 / €59 with lunch (south). The booking engine showed a 10 % discount

Mount Teide

Guided Teide summit hike with cable car and trail permit

Volcano Teide

A guided walk to the Teide summit using the cable car, with the summit trail permit arranged by the operator. It is rated as demanding, and bookings cannot be cancelled once confirmed because of how the permit system works.

Guide
Spanish or EnglishConfirmed
Pickup
Other areas (days vary by area)Conditional
Starts
Pickup between 7:00 and 9:30; north option daily, south option Monday to Saturday (towns not named)Confirmed
Duration
6 hoursConfirmed
Included
Summit trail permit and return cable car included. Any separate visitor fee and whether it is included are not statedConditional
Ages
No under-6s, pregnant travellers, heart conditions or physical/motor disabilities. Good fitness required; hiking boots, long trousers and a warm layer mandatory. Extra equipment required for ice or snowConfirmed
Cancellation
Cannot be cancelled once confirmed, because of the permit systemConfirmed
Sources and dates · record checked 29 Oct 2026, next review 28 Nov 2026
  • Starts, Duration, Guide, Cancellation, Price, Pickup (Other areas): volcanoteide.com (checked 21 Oct 2026)
  • Included, Ages: volcanoteide.com (checked 29 Oct 2026)
Tour page

Good for: Fit walkers who want to reach the summit without arranging the permit themselves.

Not for: Children under 6, pregnant travellers and people with heart conditions; Anyone whose plans might change (no cancellation once confirmed).

Mount Teide

Teide day tour with cable car ride, pickup in the north

Volcano Teide

The cable car company's guided Teide day, collecting guests in Puerto de la Cruz and La Orotava every day and in Santa Cruz on Mondays and Fridays. Guests from Garachico, Icod and Buenavista make their own way to a meeting point in Puerto de la Cruz.

Guide
North departures: Spanish, English, German and French (the page lists French inconsistently). Not stated whether each coach runs in one language. Includes the 'Teide Legend' digital audio guideConditional
Pickup
Puerto de la Cruz, La Orotava, Santa Cruz, Other areas (days vary by area)Confirmed
Starts
Pickup point or hotel; time depends on the stop, chosen at booking and confirmed by emailConfirmed
Duration
About 7 hours; time at the upper station limited to 1 hourConfirmed
Included
Return cable car ticket, official guide, transport, audio guide and entry to the 'Science and Legend' exhibition. Not included: food and drink (you may bring a snack) and the summit trail permitConfirmed
Ages
No cable car for under-3s, pregnant travellers, heart conditions or physical/motor disabilities. Closed high-grip shoes required; trails require hiking boots, long trousers and a warm layer. No suitcases/large bags; guide and therapy dogs excepted. Child price not publishedConfirmed
Group size
Not stated for the tour. The cable car cabin holds 44 but usually carries no more than 35Conditional
Weather
If wind or weather closes the cable car, the ticket value is refunded (€43 adult, €21.50 child, non-residents). Not stated whether the rest of the tour still runs. If the cable car stops at the top, the way down may be on footConditional
Cancellation
Free cancellation or date change up to 24 hours before; 100 % charged after that. Up to 3 date changes within 1 yearConfirmed
Sources and dates · record checked 29 Oct 2026, next review 28 Nov 2026
  • Starts, Duration, Guide, Cancellation, Included, Group size, Pickup (Puerto de la Cruz), Pickup (La Orotava), Pickup (Santa Cruz), Pickup (Other areas): volcanoteide.com (checked 21 Oct 2026)
  • Ages, Price: volcanoteide.com (checked 29 Oct 2026)
  • Weather: volcanoteide.com (checked 21 Oct 2026)
Tour page

Good for: Guests based in Puerto de la Cruz or La Orotava who want a daily pickup; First-time visitors who want the cable car without driving.

Not for: Children under 3, pregnant travellers, and people with heart conditions or physical disabilities (they cannot ride the cable car); Guests in La Laguna (not listed as a pickup area); Anyone hoping to walk to the summit crater (separate permit needed).

Mount Teide

Teide day tour with cable car ride, pickup in the south

Volcano Teide

A guided coach day to Teide National Park run by the company that operates the cable car, with a return cable car ticket, an audio guide and an exhibition visit. Time at the upper station is limited to one hour, and the summit trail permit is not included.

Guide
South: Spanish, English, German, Italian, Dutch and French; Los Gigantes/Playa Paraíso options list only Spanish, English, German and French. Coach language mode not stated. Includes the Teide Legend digital audio guideConditional
Pickup
Puerto Santiago, El Médano, Golf del Sur, Costa del Silencio, Los Gigantes and more (days vary by area)Conditional
Starts
Pickup point or hotel; time depends on the stop, chosen at booking and confirmed by emailConfirmed
Duration
About 7 hours; time at the upper station limited to 1 hourConfirmed
Included
Return cable car ticket, official guide, transport, audio guide and entry to the 'Science and Legend' exhibition. Not included: food and drink (you may bring a snack) and the summit trail permitConfirmed
Ages
No cable car for under-3s, pregnant travellers, heart conditions or physical/motor disabilities. Closed high-grip shoes required; trails require hiking boots, long trousers and a warm layer. No suitcases/large bags; guide and therapy dogs excepted. Child price not publishedConfirmed
Group size
Not stated for the tour. The cable car cabin holds 44 but usually carries no more than 35Conditional
Weather
If wind or weather closes the cable car, the ticket value is refunded (€43 adult, €21.50 child, non-residents). Not stated whether the rest of the tour still runs. If the cable car stops at the top, the way down may be on foot. Live status on the operator's 'Teide Today' pageConditional
Cancellation
Free cancellation or date change up to 24 hours before; 100 % charged after that. Up to 3 date changes within 1 yearConfirmed
Sources and dates · record checked 29 Oct 2026, next review 28 Nov 2026
  • Starts, Duration, Cancellation, Included, Group size, Price, Pickup (Puerto Santiago), Pickup (Other areas), Pickup (El Médano), Pickup (Golf del Sur), Pickup (Costa del Silencio), Pickup (Los Gigantes), Pickup (Costa Adeje), Pickup (Playa de las Américas), Pickup (Los Cristianos): volcanoteide.com (checked 21 Oct 2026)
  • Guide, Ages: volcanoteide.com (checked 29 Oct 2026)
  • Weather: volcanoteide.com (checked 21 Oct 2026)
Tour page

Good for: First-time visitors who want the cable car without driving or buying tickets separately; Guests in the south who want to go on any day of the week.

Not for: Children under 3, pregnant travellers, and people with heart conditions or physical disabilities (they cannot ride the cable car); Anyone hoping to walk to the summit crater (separate permit needed); Travellers who need a guide speaking only their language (one language per coach is not confirmed).

Mount Teide

Teide, Masca village, Icod and Garachico in one coach day

Atlántico Excursiones

A low-cost coach day covering the Roques de García on Teide, the dragon tree in Icod, Garachico, Teno and the village of Masca. There is no cable car and no descent of the Masca gorge, and the seller is a travel agency that does not say whose coach runs the tour.

Guide
Product page says 'English speaking guide'; the general FAQ says guides speak the client's languageConditional
Pickup
Puerto de la Cruz, Other areas (days vary by area)Conditional
Starts
Around 8:30; the tour starts once everyone is on board, and there may be a change of coachConfirmed
Duration
About 9 hours, including about 30 minutes at Roques de García. Visits to Icod, Garachico, Teno and Masca; other stop lengths not statedConfirmed
Included
Guide and air-conditioned coach. No lunch and no cable car. Masca: village only, not the gorgeConfirmed
Ages
Child fare 2-11; infants 0-1 free. Minimum age not stated. Uneven ground at some stops. Accessibility contradictory: the header says not wheelchair accessible, further down it says accessible if you can board the coach unaidedConditional
Group size
Marked as not a small-group tour; coach size not stated (the general FAQ mentions coaches of up to 40 seats)Conditional
Weather
Itinerary and times may change because of bad weather or other causes; refund terms for this case not statedConditional
Cancellation
Product page: free up to 24 hours before, no refund later. General terms allow deduction of supplier cancellation chargesConditional
Sources and dates · record checked 29 Oct 2026, next review 28 Nov 2026
Tour page

Good for: Travellers who want Teide, Masca village and the north-west coast in one day on a budget; Guests in Puerto de la Cruz (separate option; the route runs in reverse).

Not for: Anyone who wants the cable car; Hikers wanting the Masca gorge; Travellers who need a guide in a language other than English.

National park, cable car or summit: three kinds of Teide tour

Panoramic coach tours drive up through Las Cañadas, stop at viewpoints such as the Roques de García and come back down. You see the volcano and the lava fields but you do not go up the cone. They do not include the cable car, so its age and health limits do not apply; other conditions are in each card.

Tours with the cable car add the ride to La Rambleta, about 3,555 metres up, where short trails lead to viewpoints over Pico Viejo and, on clear days, the other islands. Wind can close the cable car at short notice, so the operator’s own conditions and the tour’s refund rule matter as much as the price.

Summit climbs are the only way to stand at the crater. They need the permit for trail 10: a cable car ticket does not include it, and only some guided summit tours arrange it for you (the card says when).

Before you book a Teide tour: four things to check

  • Does it include the cable car? Many “Teide tours” do not. Each comparison card says what is included and where we read it.
  • Who cannot go up. Under-threes, pregnant women and people with heart conditions cannot ride the cable car, according to the operator.
  • The summit permit. It is booked on Tenerife ON, is valid only for its date and time slot, and since 19 January 2026 costs 15 euros for visitors from outside the Canaries (Cabildo de Tenerife, checked 21 October 2026).
  • Pickup days. North and west coast pickups are often limited to some days of the week.

Going on a clear evening instead? Sunset and stargazing trips are on their own page: stargazing and sunset tours on Teide.

Questions people ask

Does a cable car ticket let me walk to the summit of Teide?

No. The cable car takes you to the upper station at La Rambleta. The last stretch to the crater is trail number 10 (Telesforo Bravo), and it needs a separate, dated permit booked through the Cabildo’s Tenerife ON platform. Without it, you stay on the trails around the upper station.

How much is the Teide summit permit?

Since 19 January 2026 the Cabildo de Tenerife charges 15 euros to visitors who are not resident in the Canaries (6 euros for residents of other islands; free for Tenerife residents). Check the rules for children on Tenerife ON before booking.The booking conditions refund the fee if you cancel at least three days before your slot, if the trail is closed or if the cable car does not operate; you ask by email to Tenerife ON (checked 26 October 2026).

Can children and pregnant women ride the Teide cable car?

The operator does not allow children under three, pregnant women or people with heart conditions or reduced mobility on the cable car. Tours that include it apply the same rule. Tours without the cable car avoid that rule, but we have not checked whether they suit each of these travellers: ask the operator before booking.

What happens if the cable car closes because of wind?

Wind can close it at short notice; the operator posts the day’s status on its “Teide Today” page. Its conditions say there is no charge when the cable car closes for weather, and its own tours refund the cable car part. Tours without the cable car do not depend on it; for any weather change, check each operator’s own rule in the cards.

Do Teide tours pick up from Puerto de la Cruz?

Some do. The cable car operator’s own Teide tour lists daily pickups in the north (Puerto de la Cruz and La Orotava), while many coach tours only collect from the south. Check the pickup row of each option on this page, or the Puerto de la Cruz page.

Do I need to buy cable car tickets separately?

It depends on the tour. Some Teide tours include the cable car ticket; the panoramic coach tours exclude the ride, and we have not confirmed that you can add it during those itineraries. The “included” row of each card says which, and where we read it.